Everything you need to know about the Club World Cup

Everything you need to know about the Club World Cup

The 18th edition of the Club World Cup kicks off next week, with champions from across the globe meeting in the United Arab Emirates.

Champions League winners Chelsea will be the European representatives, while Palmeiras take their place as kings of South America.

With eight games scheduled across two cities in nine days, read on to get yourself up to speed with all the key information.

Chelsea,Champions League

When is the Club World Cup?

Like many other competitions, the scheduling of the Club World Cup has hit major disruption.

Originally planned as a summer showpiece in China, the competition was pushed back to later in the year, with Japan selected as the new hosts.

However, due to rising coronavirus cases, the Japanese Football Association withdrew their participation, meaning FIFA had to make a second change.

Abu Dhabi was chosen as the new location, with games now taking place from Thursday, February 3 until Saturday, February 12.

As UAE league champions, Al Jazira will play the opening match against Tahitian side AS Pirae, who will be Oceania's representatives.

Which teams are taking part?

There will be seven teams taking part — here is the full list.

Al Ahly (Egypt, CAF Champions League winners)
Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia, AFC Champions League winners)
Al Jazira (UAE, UAE Pro League winners)
AS Pirae (Tahiti, OFC representatives)
Chelsea (England, UEFA Champions League winners)
Monterrey (Mexico, CONCACAF Champions League winners)
Palmeiras (Brazil, Copa Libertadores winners)


What is the fixture schedule?

First round

Match One: Thursday, February 3 — Al Jazira vs AS Pirae (4.30pm)

Second round

Match Two: Saturday, February 5 — Al Ahly vs Monterrey (4.30pm)
Match Three: Sunday, February 6 — Al Hilal vs Winners of Match One (4.30pm)


Match Four: Tuesday, February 8 — Palmeiras vs winners of Match Two (4.30pm)
Match Six: Wednesday, February 9 — Chelsea vs winners of Match Three (4.30pm)

Saturday, February 12 — winners of Match Four vs winners of Match Six (4.30pm)

In addition, there will be two further matches, play-off games to decide the fifth and third-place teams.

Who has won the competition the most times?

Real Madrid have won the Club World Cup on four occasions, most recently in 2018.

Barcelona have three wins to their name, with 2020 champions Bayern Munich having picked up the trophy twice.

Liverpool are the most recent Premier League victors, in 2019, while two-time winners Corinthians are the last South American team to be crowned.

The Brazilian side, then managed by current national team coach Tite, defeated Chelsea 1-0 — the Blues' most recent appearance in the marquee event.

Liverpool,Club World Cup

24H Soccer Win: The world's best football tipsters community, had a lot of winning tips everyday. Join now and gain the most reliable football tipsters and help you make money from betting.